Love & Bullshit: A Mixtape

on

Sometimes you read pieces and they stay with you for a very long time until you tell whatever story you were supposed to. For me, it was a piece I was shown by a brilliant teacher and writer during my BA, it’s called Love & Other Catastrophes: A Mixtape by Amanda Holzer. It tells a story of a failed relationship using only the titles of songs. It’s brilliant because not knowing the songs doesn’t detract from how real and raw the emotion is. You can read it here.

Here is my version, it follows a very similar arc to Holzer’s original but with all the songs I love. We all fall in love to and break up over a soundtrack, after all.


I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For – U2. I Want to Know What Love Is – Foreigner. Just A Friend – Mario. Friendly – J HUS. Ready Or Not – Fugees. I’m Sprung – T-Pain. Please Don’t Turn Me On – Artful Dodger. Tempted To Touch – Rupee. Is It You? – Cassie. Kiss Me – Sixpence None The Richer. You Can’t Hurry Love – The Supremes. Waiting For Tonight – Jennifer Lopez. How Will I Know? – Whitney Houston. Touch – Shift K3Y. Wonderful Tonight – Eric Clapton. Falling For You – Tamia. U Got it Bad – Usher. Let’s Stay Together – Al Green. Say You Won’t Let Go – James Arthur. How Deep Is Your Love? – Bee Gees. Tell It To My Heart – Taylor Dane. Under Pressure – Queen. Don’t Get Me Wrong – Pretenders. U Get on My Nerves – Jazmine Sullivan & Ne-Yo. Insecure – Jazmine Sullivan & Bryson Tiller. Creep – TLC. Who Is She 2 U? – Brandy. I’m Not The Only One – Sam Smith. I Just Wanna Know – Taio Cruz. Quit Playing Games (With My Heart) – Backstreet Boys. Torn – Natalie Imbruglia. Are You Ready to Be Heartbroken? – Lloyd Cole and the Commotions. Tears – Tinie Tempah ft. Cleo Sol. Waste of Time – Snow Tha Product. I’m Not Missing You – Stacie Orrico. Unkiss Me – Maroon 5. Bleeding Love – Leona Lewis. Did You Wrong – Pleasure P. It’s All Coming Back To Me Now – Celine Dion. Let’s Work It Out – Raghav. Miss You Like Crazy – The Moffats. Want You Back – HAIM. Fight For This Love – Cheryl Cole. Linger – The Cranberries. Like A Fool – Kiera Knightley. Don’t Love You No More (I’m Sorry) – Craig David. We Are Never Getting Back Together – Taylor Swift. Hate That I Love You – Rihanna ft. Ne-Yo. You Never Said Goodbye – Ramzi. How Am I Supposed to Live Without You – Michael Bolton. PS (I’m Still Not Over You) – Rihanna. Used To Love You – Gwen Stefani. Four Seasons of Loneliness – Boyz II Men. Don’t Look Back in Anger – Oasis. Time to Grow – Lemar. The World Moves On – Jens Lekman. When All Is Said And Done – ABBA. I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For – U2.


 

 

Leave a comment